Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Winter Field Day - January 27-28

Its not too early to start planning for Winter Field Day 2018. Winter Field Day is coming up on January 27-28, 2018 and is an opportunity to hone your winter outdoor operating skills.

Purpose: To encourage emergency operating preparedness in the winter.
When: The contest runs for 24 hours during the last full weekend in January each year from 1700 UTC (12:00 noon EST) Saturday to 1700 UTC (12:00 noon EST) Sunday.
For 2018, the dates are January 27 and 28, 2018. Station set up may begin no earlier than 1300 UTC (8:00 AM EST) on January 28, 2018.

Latest From QRZ.com: Without further adieu and by popular demand!

We are back! The Winter Field Day Association brings you Winter Field Day.

Join Us on Saturday, January 27 at 1900z (2:00 PM EST) until Sunday, January 28 at 1900z (2:00 PM EST). On all the bands and modes, except the WARC bands.

We have changed the rules so now it will be similar to ARRL Field Day. For example the exchange will be WX4ET 1O TN, for the Multi Ops. It will be by the number of stations, for example WX4TN 10O TN.

Operate solo, in pairs, or as a team (multi) from home, a remote location, indoors, or outdoors... it's up to you! Earn bonus points for outdoor operation, non-commercial power, and remote locations. Winter Field Day is a perfect opportunity for your club or team to put together an outing.

Check us out on the web at www.winterfieldday.com and we are also on Facebook at www.facebook.com/groups/winterfieldday/

If you post on Twitter and/or Facebook, use the hashtag #WFDA18

Hope to hear you calling CQ WFD on the bands on Winter Field Day 2018 !!!!

From The WFDA Committee,

1 comment:

  1. This is a great initiative for the community. For people with kids and need a place to go and enjoy it is very important that more of such projects be undertaken